Feuer Citizenship Award

Trustees and the Starehe Girls’ Centre community thank Mr. Jonathan Feuer for starting and sustaining the Jonathan Feuer Award for the tenth year. The award helps the students to develop democratic attributes which will be useful in their lives.

The winner of Feuer Citizenship Award is chosen through a transparent democratic process. Each of the ten houses chooses the student who is considered best in many set aside attributes. The names of the winners are again put together and the entire student body elects the best student who fulfill all the attributes and criteria agreed upon for a global citizen. This is done through voting using ballot boxes, with election observers, returning officers, presiding officers and finally counting of the ballots and announcing of the winning student.

For the past ten years the following students have been the beneficiaries:-

  1. 2010 Veronica Nzembi Muli
  2. 2011 Lavender Birike Otieno
  3. 2012 Linda Midigo Onyango
  4. 2013 Farhiya Ibrahim Dubow
  5. 2014 Fricky Jepchirchir Ronoh
  6. 2015 Beryl Achieng Okoth
  7. 2016 Hellen Waithira Maingi
  8. 2017 Sheila N. Masinde
  9. 2018 Joan Asiko
  10. 2019 Veronicah Nyambura Wathihia

2012 - 2019 Winners with Photos

2012 Linda M. Onyango
2013 Farhiya I. Dubow
2014 Fricky J. Ronoh
2015 Beryl A. Okoth
2016 Hellen W. Maingi
2017 Sheila N. Masinde
2018 Joan Asiko
2019 Veronicah N. Wathihia